XP Pro - desktop screen is clipped

Ask any and all of your Windows XP questions here.

XP Pro - desktop screen is clipped

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

XP Pro - desktop screen is clipped

Postby margotd42 » Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:19 pm

I've been messing around with my video settings and now somehow my desktop does not fill my monitor screen - it has a strip on L and R sides. This also shows up on my cloned TV (that's what started me messing around). Tried moving the screen around, etc. but unsuccessful. Was using nVidia Desktop Manager.

I have 128MB GeForce FX 5700LE video card
a Compaq Presario S6300NX (aka AMD Athlon XP according to Speccy),
2 GB RAM
Lots of HD left: 300 GB total, 215 GB free
I also have an external 600 GB HD that I keep all my "stuff" in. - it has 350 GB free.
Let me know if you need more info.

Hope you can help,

Margot
margotd42
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:43 pm

XP Pro - desktop screen is clipped

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

Re: XP Pro - desktop screen is clipped

Postby online_fixes » Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:48 pm

Hello Margot,

Were you changing the screen resolution when this happened??
Gary
http://www.internetfixes.com

Make a Donation!
http://www.internetfixes.com/main_paypal.htm
online_fixes
Site Admin
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 11:53 am
Location: Waldorf Maryland.

Re: XP Pro - desktop screen is clipped

Postby margotd42 » Mon Apr 18, 2011 6:53 pm

Yes, I tried various ones, and ended up with 1280x768 px - for my 17" CRT monitor.
margotd42
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:43 pm

Re: XP Pro - desktop screen is clipped

Postby margotd42 » Mon Apr 18, 2011 6:55 pm

I messed things up so bad that I had to do a Restore.
Margot ;-)
margotd42
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:43 pm

Re: XP Pro - desktop screen is clipped

Postby online_fixes » Mon Apr 18, 2011 6:58 pm

Hello Margot,

Try bringing it back with the setting knobs on the monitor itself.
Gary
http://www.internetfixes.com

Make a Donation!
http://www.internetfixes.com/main_paypal.htm
online_fixes
Site Admin
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 11:53 am
Location: Waldorf Maryland.

Re: XP Pro - desktop screen is clipped

Postby margotd42 » Mon Apr 18, 2011 7:39 pm

DUH!!!! It worked. I know I tried that before but it took your magic touch to work - hahahaha.
FYI - I just made my donation

I found your site earlier today when I Googled how to make Start-Programs into multiple columns. You fixed it, too!!!!
Thanks so much!

Margot
margotd42
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:43 pm


Return to Windows XP Home and Pro Questions.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
Install phpBB web hosting