Restore Options In Windows XP!
- Selecting Restore security will restore security settings for each file and
folder. Security settings include permissions, audit entries, and ownership.
This option is available only if you have backed up data from an NTFS volume
used in Windows XP and you are restoring it to an NTFS volume used in Windows
- Selecting Restore Removable Storage database will restore the Removable
Storage database. If you are not using Removable Storage to manage storage
media, you do not need to select this option. Also, this will delete your
existing Removable Storage database.
- Selecting Restore junction points, and restore file and folder data under
junction points to the original location restores junction points on your hard
disk as well as the data that the junction points point to. If you do not select
this check box, the junction points will be restored as common directories and
the data your junction points point to will not be accessible. Also, if you are
restoring a mounted drive, and you want to restore the data that is on the
mounted drive, you must select this check box. If you do not select this check
box, you will only restore the folder containing the mounted drive.
- Selecting When restoring replicated data sets, mark the restored data as the
primary data for all replicas ensures that restored File Replication service
(FRS) data is replicated to your other servers. If you are restoring FRS data,
you should choose this option. If you do not choose this option, the FRS data
that you are restoring may not be replicated to other servers because the
restored data will appear to be older than the data already on the servers. This
will cause the other servers to overwrite the restored data, thereby preventing
you from restoring the FRS data.
- Selecting Preserve existing volume mount points will prevent the restore operation from writing over any volume mount points you have created on the partition or volume you are restoring data to. This option is primarily applicable when you are restoring data to an entire drive or partition. For example, if you are restoring data to a replacement drive, and you have partitioned and formatted the drive and restored volume mount points, you should select this option so your volume mount points are not restored. If you are restoring data to a partition or drive that you have just reformatted, and you want to restore the old volume mount points, you should not select this option.
Did this Article Give you the Information You Were Looking For?